top of page

The Mission Cross

Installed in St Mary's Cathedral: 2022

Four Corners of the World

The Cross Crosslet is a heraldic cross consisting of four Latin Crosses arranged at right-angles to each other with the tops pointing to the 'four corners of the world'. Representing the four evangelists: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John it is considered as a symbol of the evangelising mission of the Church affording an alternative name: Mission Cross.  There are four such crosses inscribed in the sanctuary floor which with the altar at their centre combine to evoke the Five Wounds of Christ.

You are in


the Chancel


bottom of page