Cathedral Parish Pastoral Council


The Cathedral Parish Pastoral Council is a consultative body, consisting of the Cathedral Administrator, Priest, Pastoral Associate and parishioners from St Mary’s Cathedral and Sacred Heart, New Town.


The purpose/goal of the Parish Pastoral Council is to:


Promote the church’s mission to live and communicate the love and values of Christ in our world.


Share in the responsibility for the ongoing life and development of the faith community, working together with parishioners to provide support for their efforts to live as followers of Christ.


The core concern of the Parish Pastoral Council is to focus on pastoral issues and make parish decisions that reflect the values of the Gospel and the teachings of the Church. It endeavours to achieve its purpose/goal by:


Listening to and actively gathering information about the hopes, ideas, needs and concerns of parishioners.


Offering advice and support to the Cathedral administrator, working collaboratively with him and with each other.


Encouraging and supporting the continuing good work of existing groups within the parish.


Providing opportunities for parishioners:


To grow in their relationship with God and with each other.


To support and encourage them in their continuing efforts to be a Christian influence in the wider community.


Planning for the future of the parish by setting realistic and achievable short-term and long-term pastoral goals, within the framework of the Archdiocesan priorities.


Initiating and overseeing the implementation of these pastoral goals.


Meetings are held every 4 weeks at the Cathedral Parish Centre, from 5.30pm – 7.00pm.


The Parish pastoral council welcomes the views of all parishioners. Contact can be made through the Parish Office.


Councillors (as at Dec 2020)

Fr Shammi Perera
Deacon Nick MacFarlane
Sr Monica
Jane McKeown
Alex Rodrigues
Debbie & Michael Brown
Show More
St Mary's Cathedral - Cnr Patrick & Harrington Sts  (Cathedral Centre adjoins)
Sacred Heart Church - 1 Cross St, New Town
Join our Parish distribution list
Postal Address

99 Barrack St, Hobart  TAS  7000

P : 03 6234 4463